Kyle Lacy

As CEO of this relatively young (established in July 2007) firm, Kyle has quickly built a reputation for an excellent in-depth understanding of the application of social media for business.

Prior to starting Brandswag, Kyle worked with a student run record label at Anderson University as the Vice President of Marketing. Kyle worked extensively with recording artist Jon McLaughlin on developing social and Internet applications to increase brand awareness. Myspace and Facebook marketing was one of the triggers that led to Jon being signed to Island Records where he tours today. After starting at Brandswag Kyle has worked and trained with companies from 50 to 1500 employees including Panasonic, ExactTarget, Ruth’s Chris and the Make-a-Wish Foundation of America.

Kyle is also involved in community development both from the net and socially. As one of the first 15 members of Smaller Indiana, Kyle quickly became the face of this community. His willingness to individually greet each new member was an integral part of the site’s early success. (Today, Smaller Indiana has more than 10,000 members most of whom have been greeted by Kyle). He also sits on the board of local non-profits Community First Initiative, Global Ambassadors for Children, and the Exodus House.

Kyle recently finished authoring the book Twitter Marketing for Dummies from Wiley Publishing and has a second book from Pearson Publishing called Branding Yourself being released in December 2010. The second edition of Twitter Marketing for Dummies will also be released in 2011. Recognized both locally and globally for his knowledge of social media he is routinely invited to share his expertise with audiences all over the United States. Kyle writes a regular blog at and has been featured on the AdAge 150, Wall Street Journal Online and ranked on over five global blog lists.

Most recently Kyle was recognized as one of the top 40-under-Forty business professional in Indianapolis by the Indianapolis Business Journal. He was twenty-five at the time and one of the youngest to ever receive the award.